After an at-times contentious race for Livingston County Sheriff, area voters decided by a wide margin at the ballot booth to re-elect Tony Childress as the county’s top law enforcer in the General Election primary Tuesday.
    Childress won more than 60 percent of the Republican vote against challenger Jack Wiser. The end result was clear early on — with half of the votes in, Childress led Wiser by 1,547 votes to 749. With all the votes in, the incumbent ended up winning by 62.35 percent to Wiser’s 37.65 percent, 3,075 votes to 1,857.
     On his victory, Childress said that it was not he who had truly won, but his supporters.
    “The voters of Livingston County have spoken, and I’m very humbled by their support,” he said. “I want it to be known that I did not win this election: my supporters and the people that have backed me, supported me and surrounded me won this election. I want them to know that it’s my promise to make them proud in the next four years and uphold my campaign promises.”
    The sheriff said his immediate plans upon retaining his post would be to enhance school safety using his deputy staff. He also wished Wiser the best, despite an occasionally querulous campaign season.
    “I wish him well,” he said. “It was a very contentious race and I think our team proved that we could run a positive campaign and I think we did, without any negativity directed at my opponent or my opponent’s campaign.”
    In other races of consequence, the Livingston body politic voted:
    • For the four, four-year term County Board District One seats (for the townships of Pontiac and Rooks Creek). All four incumbents of Kathy Arbogast, James Carley, Marty Fannin and Bill Mays opted to vie again for office, facing a new challenger from Pontiac resident James Blackard. But the low vote-getter was Fannin with 763 to Blackard’s second-lowest total of 786, meaning District One will be represented by a new office-holder. Arbogast received 1,157 votes, Carley received 1,142 and Mays received 868.
    • On the county seats of District Three (containing townships south of 2100 North Road excepting Pontiac, Rooks Creek and Owego), which featured five candidates, four seats, three new office-seekers and two incumbents opting out.
    The incumbents bidding for re-election in District Three, Mark Runyon and John Yoder, retained their seats. Since Stan Weber and Justin Goembel declined to seek re-election, Runyon and Yoder vied for their seats against three fresh challengers — Linda Ambrose of Fairbury, Mark Kirkton of Gridley and John Vitzthum of Saunemin.
    But Kirkton ended up receiving only 1,076 votes compared to the 1,158 received by Yoder, who got the fourth most votes. Vitzthum and Ambrose received 1,452 and 1,455 votes, respectively, and were far and away the highest vote getters. Runyon received 1,193 tallies in his favor.
    • For the four-year seats in District Two (which contains all townships north of 2100 North Road with the exception of Pontiac and Rooks Creek, and including Owego). With four persons running, the race wasn’t competitive; however, given the decision of two incumbents not to run, the county will automatically see two new County Board members. Board members Bob Weller and Steven Lovell ran for re-election, while members David Heath and Daryl Holt did not.
    Holt and Heath will be replaced by the only two non-incumbents who sought county seats in that district — Gerald Earing and Bill Wilkey, both of Dwight.
    • To re-elect County Board member Patrick Killian. Killian ran unopposed for the unexpired two-year term seat.
    • For County Clerk Kristy Masching, who sought re-election, ran unopposed. Nikki Meier also ran unopposed for the office held by County Treasurer Barb Sear, who opted not to seek re-election.     The vote tally remains unofficial until certification. Further election results will follow in tomorrow’s edition of the Daily Leader.