The 1987-88 girls basketball was inducted into the Hall of Fame on Friday, Jan. 5, at Orion High School.

Orion High School’s 1987-88 girls basketball team included letterwinners Angie Birdsall, Melissa Taylor DeClerck, Natalie Nordquist Farwell, Kelly Church Glass, Terri Tholl Grafton, Denise Kunert Jacobsen, Laura Carlson Lewsader, Veronica Wilson Schroeder, Emily Dahl Seaholm, Chris Stropes and Ann Seabloom Versluys, and their head coach, Ben Ahring.

To quote the Orion High School yearbook of 1988, the girls basketball team played with PACE— Pride, Attitude, Character, and Enthusiasm.

Their dedication to this mission statement resulted in a record-setting season for the girls.

The team’s success that year included at 23-6 record, winning the Olympic Conference championship, the ROWVA Tournament, the Orion Invitational and the regional championship, and advancing to the sectional championship where they lost to Kewanee, the eventual fourth-place team at the state tournament.

Besides winning together, the team also made a lot of memories which revolved around their mission statement.

For example, they took Pride in their defense, holding teams to just over 35 points per game.

They played with an Attitude and could intimidate teams at times with a starting lineup that at 5’10” or more stood out at that time.

They showed Character in bouncing back from a 2-2 start at the beginning of the year to make a run in the postseason.

And finally, during one practice after Thanksgiving they Enthusiastically participated in a drill called the 12-minute run. And to quotecoach Ahring, double or nothing it was their favorite drill of the year.